Dublin City University (DCU), Ireland.

Dublin City University (abbreviated as DCU) is a university situated on the Northside of Dublin in Ireland.. Created as the National Institute for Higher Education, Dublin, it enrolled its first students in 1980 and was elevated to university status (along with the University of Limerick) in 1989 by statute. In September 2016, DCU completed the process resulting in the incorporation of three Dublin institutions: Church of Ireland College of EducationMater Dei Institute of Education and St Patrick's College.

The university currently has around 6,000 undergraduate students, over 600 research postgraduates, 1,800 taught postgraduate students and over 50,000 alumni. In addition the university has around 1,200 online distance education students studying through DCU Connected

The University has been designated as a Changemaker Campus by Ashoka U for its work in social innovation in higher education.

There were 440 academic staff in 2006. Notable members of the academic staff include former Taoiseach John Bruton and "thinking" Guru Edward De Bono. Bruton accepted a position as Adjunct Faculty Member in the School of Law and Government in early 2004 and De Bono accepted an adjunct Professorship in the university in mid-2005.

The founding president of the institution was Dr Danny O'Hare, who retired in 1999 after 22 years' service. After a period of administration by an acting president (Professor Albert Pratt), Professor Ferdinand von Prondzynski, was appointed and continued as president for a full term, which ended in July 2010. He was succeeded by current president, Professor Brian MacCraith.